The All-American Rejects was first formed in 2001. At this time, the band only consisted of Tyson Ritter (vocals/bass) and Nick Wheeler (guitar/programming), who had been friends since the age of 14. The two high school friends formed the band, as a means of creating excitement in their town of Stillwater, Oklahoma. Since it was only a two-man band and they could not possibly play every instrument needed, they used pre-programmed rhythm tracks and drum loops. In 2001, the twosome released their first record entitled Same Girl, New Songs.

In 2002, two new members, Mike Kennerty (guitar) and Chris Gaylor (drums) joined the band, and the quartet was formed. In 2003, the boys released their next record, The All-American Rejects, and with it, created their first hit, "Swing, Swing". Interscope Records executives liked the song so much that they signed the group. In 2005, the group released Move Along and found success with three of its breakout songs, "Dirty Little Secret" "Move Along", and "It Ends Tonight", all of which went platinum. The band's next album, When the World Comes Down, did not disappoint fans as it spawned the well-known hit "Gives You Hell". This album is the most personal, yet, for the group. In order to think of the best lyrics, through which they could express their emotions, the group took bus trips together and stayed in remote cabins. This bonding time not only helps the band sell numerous albums, but it also brings the four closer together.

Young Hollywood recently caught up with The All-American Rejects in Mailbu and had access to behind the scene of their music video!



One cover song that the band has performed is the Britney Spears hit, "Womanizer".

Their greatest influences are AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Bon Jovi.

Chris Gaylor was enrolled at the University of Central Oklahoma and was going to be a physical therapist, until Tyson called and asked him to join the band.




Error! Unable to retrieve any Images!